– encounters 10 – lunch & Shimizu Funakoshi Tsutsumi Park

Submissions sent off in the morning, some official work dealt with, and then off to meet a friend for lunch at 1pm.

Fuji_Station

This involved crossing the station bridge into the fish markets on the other side of the Shimizu Station. The markets are well worth going to. There you go – beauty and industry – all in one package.

Suruga_Bay_restauran

We needed to find a place that didn’t serve solely fish. I know, it’s a fish market, but it’s wise for businesses to have diversity. We found it here. A really nice place overlooking the bay. So cheap for the food and the view as well!

fuji_bay_restaurant

By the way, I love seafood. This place has a steak donburi though, and that’s great. You could cook up your own shellfish, which I’d like to do if I was good at cooking shellfish. I’m a bit hit and miss.

meal_restauran

Aside from the steak-donburi, we ordered a mixed seafood salad, which was delish, with sashimi (maguro), negi-toro (raw minced tuna), and what was probably cuttlefish. Maybe jellyfish. A wasabi dressing complemented it nicely, but I only took the photo of the above.

meal_restaurant

It tasted every bit as good as it looks!

fish_market

We then wandered through the fish market. Apologies for my pictures in this round of posts. I’m not cropping or editing, and I know a lot of them could do with some work.

fish_market

fish_market

Fish market. My friend, despite not really liking to eat fish, had a wide knowledge of the names, so that was interesting.

Jiro_cho_shopping_street

We wandered up to S-Pulse Plaza and then parted ways. Today’s destination was Shimizu Funakoshi Tsutsumi Park, about 4km out of town, though it seemed longer. Yesterday was almost a 15km day, but that included exploring the park.

jiro_cho_shopping_street

The route took me through the Jirocho shopping street. Jirocho is a local hero, a no good hoodlum who became a very good philanthropist. The signs above are the signs of the Jirocho Shopping Street.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_Pond

The walk’s fairly direct, and leads you here. The beginning.

IShimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_Fuji_01

It’s well known for it’s views of Fuji (what isn’t in this area?). They get better as you climb the terrain.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_Pond_Ferris_Wheel

If you can see the ferris wheel in this picture, that’s S-Pulse Plaza, and that’s the distance I walked.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_Pond_kite

Flying kites is a popular New Year’s Day or period activity. This one broke free, but didn’t get far.

 

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_Fuji_02

Another Fuji view.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_trees

I love the way the sun sinks into and through the trees, grass and leaf litter.

IShimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_steps

Many of these paths and steps leading here and there.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_girls_reflection

Statue near one of the entrances of the park. There was a small stream running behind, and a larger pond to the right.

 

IShimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_path

This park is famous for its cherry blossoms, so I wonder if this path is covered with sakura petals during Hanami season.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_Fuji_03

Fuji again.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_astonomy_sign

I think you can come and gaze at the stars from 7pm to 9:00pm , every third Saturday of the month. I’m not sure though.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_astonomy

The observatory, I guess

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_view_stars

If you looked through this at night, I’m guessing, you could see stars above clearly? Maybe in the day too, but I could only see the clear sky.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_view_stars_sign

Instructions.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_view_stars_02

This was the structure. The hole is pretty low down, kid’s height.

IMG_0407

Fuji again.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_fuji_05

And again.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_view

Tea crops below.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_view_tea_05

The tea crops were at the back of the park.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_view_tea_04

I love the way they undulate. The look sculpted and fluid at the same time.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_view_tea_03

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_view_tea_02

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_view_tea_01

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_Plums

The way down brought more views of Fuji of course, and also one of the first flowers to herald spring, the ume, or plum blossom. My favourite.

Shimizu_Funakoshi_Tsutsumi_Park_Plums_02

I like the deep reddish-pink ones best. Blurry pic though. Sorry!

Buddhist_Statue

My map-app took me a bit off the beaten path on the way home. I was glad of that. Look at this beautiful statue. It stood in front of a haka, and was part of a very small temple. There were further markers for the dead on my right.

I should have taken a picture of that cemetery. It fit in between a golf shop and some other kind of store. Basically, it looked like a parking lot for the dearly departed.

Shimizu_Ume_tomoe

These are the hanging plum blossoms over the Tomoe River that I regularly see. I can imagine lining up a shot of the Shizutetsu train crossing the river,  (do you see the train bridge in the distance?), framed by the branches in bloom, would be another train spotter’s delight (in addition to the trains passing under the bell towers of Seikanji temple, as discussed here).

Shimizu_Ume_tomoe

There does seem to be a bus out to the area. I assume it leaves from Shimizu Station. I didn’t check, but both Shimizu and Shizuoka Stations have tourist information offices. It doesn’t seem to arrive or depart that regularly, though. Maybe once and hour or less. The last bus from the park was 18:10 I think, and no bus at all from 17:00-18:00. The park is well worth it, though. Hopefully I’ll visit it when the cherry blossoms light up the skies.

Explore posts in the same categories: blather, images, just for fun, photography, travel, walking

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

