– a Buddhist prayer on forgiveness

“If I have harmed anyone in any way
either knowingly or unknowingly
through my own confusions
I ask their forgiveness.
If anyone has harmed me in any way
either knowingly or unknowingly
through their own confusions
I forgive them.
And if there is a situation
I am not yet ready to forgive
I forgive myself for that.
For all the ways that I harm myself,
negate, doubt, belittle myself,
judge or be unkind to myself
through my own confusions
I forgive myself.”

Such small things – talking badly about someone, insisting on an unjust division of a bill, not taking others circumstances into account when taking one’s own circumstances into account. Larger things too. Let them recede and disperse so they are no longer in the background. Let them integrate and mingle so they no longer cause the pain that elimination requires.

Explore posts in the same categories: blather, musings

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

