– my favourite

at the moment. It kind of reminds me of a traditional Japanese triptych (ah, if I only had the skill, and the three pictures should be slightly different) and the movie cover of Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood. Or was it just a general cover? As seen here.

Someone covered Susanne on the radio a few moments ago. I believe that many people have done wonderful versions of Hallejulah, but I also believe that Susanne belongs solely to Leonard Cohen. Perhaps because it was such a part, strangely enough, of my 13 year old landscape.

The layout is screwy. Sorry. One day I will figure WordPress out.

Explore posts in the same categories: music, photography

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “– my favourite”

  1. Somebody Somewhere Says:

    So beautiful! My memory is that the Suzanne on I’m On Your Fan way back when was quite weak. Robert Forster owned Tower of Song though. 13 years old, really? Maybe that was one from the record store you spoke of once.

    • theheartbeatsoftly Says:

      My father used to listen to the radio station I listen to most of the time now, and they always played different songs. We were going down to Esperance, which is about a 7 hour drive. He got a thirty minute tape and taped one of their programmes which included Susanne. Also Cliff Richard’s Carrie Doesn’t Live Here. Funny, I love both songs, though at the time, I saw them through the uncomfortable haze of adolescence. I think Jennifer Warnes might have done it before the I’m Your Fan stuff, too, on Famous Blue Raincoat (an album of covers she did). She did a great version of Bird on a Wire, I think. * edited, no, she didn’t cover Susanne on this album.


Leave a Reply

