– untitled 15

*

only yesterday persimmons on the tree

turned black in the season’s shadow.

now the day tugs winter’s scapular,

loosens her habit,

branches warm against the sky.

*

stepping out from behind the moon,

the light plied like taffy,

the new year

twists the drawn flesh

of the day with a child’s unpractised hand,

a great aunt’s bony grip.

mottled and ragged

the bloom

is admired under watchful eye.

before spring comes

it is said

snow falls seven times.

*

park rose/lizardrinking/ theheartbeatsoftly (c) 2010

Note, March 11. I found the person who told me this expression! Wonderful. It’s actually a haiku.

越後では 七雪降って 春来たる

Echigodeha nanayuki hutte haru kitaru

Echigo (old name for Niigata)
Nanayuki (sounds old and literary but we, modern listeners, get the meaning ‘seven snow falls’ right.)

I think I heard “seven snow falls” is counted after the break of the season (Risshun around February 4th), but I may be wrong.

That’s from a letter she sent me. I hope she doesn’t mind me including it here.

I thought the change was around Setsubun, February 2nd, but Risshun, as detailed above and Setsubun are similar in meaning, as in a way of marking the change of seasons, perhaps. Perhaps!!

Explore posts in the same categories: photography, poetry

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “– untitled 15”

  1. Somebody Somewhere Says:

    Oh, that’s good. Love the category tags: photography | poetry. Heart beats for this one.

    • theheartbeatsoftly Says:

      Thank you. I worked hard on it, and I like to know that it worked ♥ It’s been rewritten a few times 😉


Leave a Reply

