– rejoinder

I hear stories from the chamber
How Christ was born into a manger
And like some ragged stranger
Died upon the cross
And might I say it seems so fitting in its way
He was a carpenter by trade
Or at least that’s what I’m told

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Mercy Seat, or Johnny Cash. Think I’ll go with the menace of Cave, but I adore Cash, too. Would have been amazing if he’d done it as a younger man. Anyway, take your pick.
P.S. The picture was taken in the park I often go to. Just some hose wrapped around a stake.

Explore posts in the same categories: music, photography

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “– rejoinder”

  1. Somebody Somewhere Says:

    This song is just awesome (in the older, archaic sense of the word).

    I saw him perform this a few times, once at The Big Day out. It poured with rain and there were several claps of thunder just as they launched into Tupelo. Nick wasn’t too impressed though saying, “This song is about a storm,” before adding, with a disdainful glance towards the heavens, “a BIG storm.”

    At that same gig, as those almighty chords were struck to start Mercy Seat, my friend turned round and looked at me with wild eyes, “This is the best song. Ever.” Right then and there no counter argument could have been put let alone withstood the irresistible force of the ensuing performance.

    • theheartbeatsoftly Says:

      Totally agree, in both senses of the word. I think I heard it when I was first 21 or so, and Tupelo, Black Betty and so on. Blew me away, though I was and still am a bit cynical about Nick. I don’t like it when he gets too dark, either, though you couldn’t get much darker than this. Other side of the coin, don’t like it when he’s too earnest. Good Son is a good album, though. A friend (Australian) in Japan gave me all her early Cave CDs, but they were wasted on me, to a degree. Though I love the songs I love. The murder ballads CD. I really want to buy that! The phrasing in this song is what makes it. And the sentiment(s).


Leave a Reply

