– I am trying to take Kenny Roger’s advice to heart

but the Kenny Roger’s versions were all of very poor resolution, and you know, Johnny Cash’s got cred.

Oh my, I really like this, too:


and this

but it might all boil down to this, and other gifts that have wrapped things up, but which removed a part of the soul in the giving:

Also, Paul Kelly from Gossip. Difficult to find an online file for it. Maybe, if you’re interested, just buy the CD/album!

I am changing “Tighten up”, to “Lighten up”. Endeavouring to do so, to fly like a kite up to the highest kite.

Tighten Up
(Paul Kelly)

Mama don’t like your holey shoes
Scrapping in the back yard – 4 Be 2
Daddy’s smokin’ motor didn’t make it up the hill
Mama can’t pay, she got one day, she got no money for the telephone bill
Tighten up, tighten up
Everything falls apart
Mama says to Papa now – Where ya been?
Papa says I’m sorry mama, I got a full skin
Mama get excited, she having an attack
Mama spins round, daddy hits the ground
For too long now she been taking up the slack
Tighten up, tighten up
Everything falls apart
Jimmy coming home now – see him on the run
Mama’s going through the cupboards–looking for a can
Daddy on a ladder, T.V. on the blink
Mama can’t think, Daddy’s feeling like a drink
And all the dirty dishes Lord are piling up the sink
Tighten up, tighten up
Everything falls apart
Tighten up, tighten up
Everything falls apart

They were so shiny in the old movies, weren’t they?

Oh, a lot of people may have seen this link already, but if you want to have some fun making advent calendars (you can put a favourite poem, image, comic, short story, song, recipe, whatever, behind every date) this is the link for you.

Not my favourite song by a long shot. In fact, I don’t really like this album, though I definitely know it. I’m more of a Let it Be, Abbey Road kinda gal, and well, comparisons are odious, I guess, though an apparent part of human nature, so just enjoy it for what it is.

I saw the poster at the Lennon museum in Omiya which detailed the words, Being for the benefit of Mr. Kite, there will be a show tonight. I am sure the story is easily findable on the Net, but anyway, it was an antique poster advertising a circus show, I think (I don’t really know, I didn’t look that closely) that John had bought. It inspired the song.

*Oh, just listening to Helter Skelter. Yeah, yeah, it’s an awesome album (the white album), too… and all the rest.

Explore posts in the same categories: blather, just for fun, music, musings, songs

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “– I am trying to take Kenny Roger’s advice to heart”


  1. “You got to know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em,
    Know when to walk away and know when to run.”

    LOVE, love, love any version of The Gambler. Big question for me is, as I nod sagely at the lyrics: HOW? How do you know when to hold & when to fold? Then, I guess if we knew that the song would have another title.

    • theheartbeatsoftly Says:

      Don’t forget that the gambler didn’t have any drink on his being… so he wasn’t a particularly rich man… or maybe he was, and he got that way by metaphorically taking the last sip of other people’s drinks. Have you checked out the Muppets’ version?

  2. MeanderingMelbourne Says:

    There’s a Muppets’ version??? Ooh!


Leave a Reply

