– touring 8, all that looks stoic is not necessarily a traditional japanese castle

Climbing the mountain, the view was rather amazing. Ten minutes it said, to the top and it looked steep, and I thought I didn’t have time so I almost didn’t do it. But there was a castle on top of that mountain and I’d seen there was and I knew the view would be pretty awesome.

There was something about times being from ten to five and for a second I thought that maybe access to the castle was denied or that there might be bears lurking about the place ( I have become hyper aware of the possibility of bears since my Hokkaido trip. Wait till I get onto the mamushi, but that’s for a non-art festival related post. Well, kind of related, but not really). On the way to the castle area I passed some older, triangular (snow) chalets which I guess were part of the camp ground. They looked functional and not too expensive to rent. I’ll need to remember it for the next summer if I am still here.

I also passed (and climbed) this structure (Matsudai Small Tower, Peripherique, 2003) . The steps were really narrow and being in the installation was totally like being in a cage except you got a bit of a view (marred by the grills). I knew the phone wouldn’t take a great picture and I wasn’t really a fan of it either, so your eyes are spared and so was my memory disc, but, on the other hand, it’s not bad. Go to the link if you want to check it out.

So huffing and a puffing and occasionally stopping to check out this:

goinguptocastle

(Koyo is going to be stunning in this area, Autumn foliage) I got to the castle, and there was no-one around. The guy in the truck had stopped at a building near the Trees featured in the last post, but high on the mountain there was just me and maybe some leprechauns hiding behind their pot of gold because here is the castle

matsudaigoldencastle9

and this is where I’m assuming someone sat to stamp your triennial passport.

munchkin

There was another chair the same size against the door. They were the only chairs I could see and I don’t think they were part of the installation, but who knows? I couldn’t find a do-it-yourself stamp, so I figured it was a paying installation when it was open for the summer. As for the Autumn spell, I didn’t know what was up, but I ventured in, anyway, thinking I was just going to check out a castle.

It was golden. I took off my shoes and walked up the golden corridor to the first floor, the second floor and the third and there was brocade and objects and statues and lushness all coated in gold. It was Bacchanalian, amazing. It was quite muted, so I really could only get photographs where the light was very strong. If you can do a search on this installation you might get better shots. Even the website photo does not do it justice.

matsudaigoldencastle1

matsudaigoldencastle2

matsudaigoldencastle3

matsudaigoldencastle4

matsudaigoldencastle5

matsudaigoldencastle6

matsudaigoldencastle7

matsudaigoldencastle8

Matsudai Golden Castle, by Ryo Toyofuku (2009)

Check out the website photo (provided just above). From the third floor (I’m counting the ground floor as the first floor, here) you looked down through a well-canopy kind of thing to the second floor and a mirror reflected back up. At the bottom of the well, so I guess at the bottom of the third floor and the top of the second floor, was an intricate welded melded seemingly wrought gold pattern which reflected in the mirror. The mirror was surrounded by the players’ masks (if that is what they are) that you can see on the website, and it seemed as if all this shiny-ness and dreaminess went on forever. It was like falling into the rabbit hole. It must have taken the artist hours and hours and hours (and then some).

Once I wandered down to the second floor, there were Roman kind of busts and a piano which had its lid up and that space, where the tuning keys are, was stuffed full of golden flowers. The piano was gold, too. There were common everyday items everywhere woven and moulded into the patterns along the walls.

I. Was. Impressed.

Maybe I am easily impressed. But I think anyone would be impressed. Most people, anyhow. It was such a pleasurable day. One small wonder leading to the next. Though some of the wonders were pretty damn huge, and as said before, awesome.

After this I meandered down the mountain/hill again. This is the final leg of the journey, and so, I think the next post will be the last.

Explore posts in the same categories: art, photography

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “– touring 8, all that looks stoic is not necessarily a traditional japanese castle”


  1. […] the heart beats oftly with nary a sound « – touring 8, all that looks stoic is not necessarily a traditional japanese castle […]


  2. […] climb the hills. Art work is peppered throughout them. If you start at touring and read through to touring 8 you will see a good representation of most of the art works. If you check out my art collection on […]


  3. […] the right side up. He covers everything in gold and makes amazing wall collages from it. Check out this post to see what he did with the Matsudai Castle in […]


Leave a Reply

