– touring five – a tribute to John Wyndham

Up close, and on the website, these again were not really favourites, but they were favourites because they were in the middle of a forest. I climbed a walkway, rotting in places, that was also an installation. Where it wasn’t rotting, it was quite beautiful, but it is the fourth time for the triennial, and I guess a lot of the older artworks must be getting eroded and decaying away.

walkway
Walk Way by CLIP, 2000.

The shot above was as I was exiting the forest. I had to cross a stream and pretend I was Indiana Jones. The extra extra PG version where nothing much happens. That link carries an incorrect description, by the way. But the artist detail and the photo are all right.

That path, after I left the Restaurant gives orders, led me to the artwork below. Oh, and there was that quick detour along the path lined by the deities, which is also in the post just linked to.

slitar

Space Slitar Orchestra, Charles Billard, 2009.

According to the website there were to be 20 or 30 slitars all made from bamboo and other organic materials. These three that I came across obviously weren’t those, but they may have been what was left of the exhibition. The Autumn leg of the triennial doesn’t have everything on display.

I played the slitar in the rain, though. There were three set up. One was the koto slitar, and I can’t remember the details of the other two, but they all had different ways of being played, or there were three possibilities. I made some noise. I don’t know if you could call it playing.

Each instrument had a slide and metal bars and so on. I almost created some pretty sounds.

Onwards and upwards or through some of the wood. Not quite, but a few of the steps were loose. Wrapped around the trees was Under a Cedar in Snow Country. The link gives the wrong description, but the right picture and artist details. The idea behind this is that the copper structures are reminiscent of tree roots which have been bent by heavy snow. The structures seem as if they are supporting the tree or vice versa, and eventually these works will become part of the landscape as more trees grow around them.

underacedarinsnowcountrylarge

underacedarinsnowcountrysingle

Under a Cedar in Snow Country, by Masayuki Hashimoto (2000)

There never is a journey I have undertaken where I have not had some kind of trouble with my phone, which is also my camera. Well, not always. So long as I’m taking pictures of flowers, something I often see, things around the house, nothing goes wrong. To be expected, I guess. In that case everything needed is just a room away.

A lot of these obstacles arise from my own negligence or forgetfulness. One of my favourite things to do is to forget to put the mini disc in the phone so that the phone memory fills up and I have to stop taking pictures. This occurred on two of the tours I was on. You wouldn’t believe it considering how many photos I have. Cull, cull, cull. I like a lot of them. Even the bad ones.

The other thing I am fond of doing is transferring things onto the disc, or sending messages, or just mucking around in the downtime, so that my battery runs down. This happened on this trip, but not until much later, and it also occurred on the September 10 trip. What do you mean that a text message to Australia uses up your battery? Really?

This time the disc ran out of space. So I had no space on my disc and no space on my phone. I was waiting for that to happen. There are a lot of folders in that disc and the logical thing to do would have been to delete some. This wouldn’t take too much time (I didn’t want to spend all day by the Cedar installation trying to figure out my phone), and it probably wouldn’t have used too much power, but I needed a handset code. Whatever in God’s name that was, I do not know. So, I had to delete pictures from folders individually, using up the battery (and viewing time).

Anyone who has visited my flickr know that those folders have a lot of photos. Well, some of them. There are a hundred and one relatively useless ones I could have deleted, but the only one I could get to quickly was my trip to Zenkoji in Nagaoka, so all gone – but of course, I have a lot of those photos on flickr, and on my computer’s hard drive or on a usb. Slowed me down. I wonder how much shorter my 5 hour tour would have been? Actually, maybe it sped me up a bit, as I didn’t take so many shots.

Now, I had to delete three to four photos for every one photo I was able to take. So I got three of the Under the Cedar Trees in Snow Country, but only one of the following and not the great shot I had lined up (I know, I know… it was | | big!

reddataplant
They came down as if they were photosynthesizing time – Three vulnerable kinds of Red Data plants, by Shigeyo Kobayashi (2000).

The description on that link is incorrect, but the photograph and the artist details are right. The Red Data plant is apparently an endangered species in Niigata, and the shapes of these represent them, and the white tiles intimate snow.

I was able to get stamps for all of these guys, and it seemed from my map that I hadn’t wandered past any inadvertently. With the map and the signposts, things were pretty well laid-out. The data pod and nodule, noodley kind of things are probably something I would give a passing glance to if they were housed in a gallery. They seemed to fit into their surroundings, though. And even if I wasn’t so keen on them, I could just sit on one of the seats nearby (even though they were covered with rain) and take in the green, the ground, the grass, the great peace around me. I like forests and I like walking through them.

Stayed tuned. The next post promises a surprise visit from Frosty, a folly, wooden circles, circular things, a funicular* and a library under the leaves.
*This is a red herring and doesn’t actually exist.

Explore posts in the same categories: art, photography

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

