– touring three – a quickie before work

If at all possible. In fact, it is completely possible, it just means I won’t get my planning done. Impossible, I will get my planning done. I read my friend’s essay yesterday and I managed about two and a half hours going to, coming from and being at the park, as well as swimming. Cleaning went by the by. Nothing new in that.

So, from No Butai I also needed to look at the Rice Field again. A poem stands in front of it and the viewing of the art work this way can only be done from the viewing platform. One of the ideas behind the work is that viewing the work, the actual act, is something that can only happen when that person has that particular perspective. When you look at the poem from below, it just looks like shiny, silver metal, and when you look at the workers in the field across, you do not realise that a poem has also overlaid their activities. It’s a really interesting idea.

ricefield poem

thericefield

Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, the Rice Field, 2000.

Those photos are from my visit on the 10th of September (a day worthy of celebration for some 🙂 ), as you can probably tell from the blue, blue skies.

Down the stairs and out of there but first one has to dodge the giant emu just by the stairs, though the sign only says giant bird or something similar, but that’s an emu if I’ve ever seen one. Everyone knows they come in blue and are made of plastic and some kind of metal.

satoyamaartzoobird

So I wandered over to the area in front of the main entrance of No Butai and saw the Maze for Tourists. I featured the picture in the post pathetic de foibles gras 2, so I’ll put it small size here.

mazeoftourists

mazeoftourists2

Maze for Tourists, Isao Toshimori, 2006.

The maze was too overgrown to walk, so I just skipped from path to path and went to Memory and Regeneration – Time Ship by Hiroko Inoue. The picture from the website is more representative than the one below, though they didn’t include the ship. Strange little boat, way out of place. It was fun watching people sit on these chairs, and if I had a super-duper stealth zoom kind of camera I could have got some cute kind of absurdist photos.

memoryandregeneration2

memoryandregeneration1

You can see No Butai in the background of the top photo and also the compost bin frogs which are part of A great chorus of “Get Up!”, by Osamu Onishi and Masako Onishi, 2009.

I didn’t have time to get good photos of them the last time I visited, as the quick forty minutes I had was spent looking for my art triennial passport. This time, not only did I get all five, but I got the close-up below, too. Look at that eye! It’s just gorgeous (my overused adjectives for these posts).

agreatchorus5frogs

agreatchorusstrongfroggie

I almost made it across the bridge to the hills, but this little number caught my attention.

soundpark1

Along with the stamp right out the front of it! Okay, okay, alright already, it caught my eye before I wandered to the maze, but you know, suspension of disbelief and all that. While I was at the maze or the regenerative circle, I saw a family run to the swing and try it out, the father racing the kids. He won, too.  And it is a lovely swing, because it has bells on it!

soundpark3

soundpark2

That, along with the Music Slider below, is part of Sound Park by Akiko Iwai and Yoko Oba. The Music Slider looks like a giant metronome, and I took that photo on the 10th of September as well. There are signs there in Japanese and English asking people not to slide on the marimba, but I witnessed those boys doing so, and have also seen photos on flickr. I know they were designed to be used, but maybe the Music Slider isn’t as sturdy as imagined. By the time I got around to the Music Slider again, my battery was flat. Guess the energy of that area just gets in the way of photographs. I’ve had three chances to snap them, and each time, some obstacle crops up.

soundparkmusicslider

Sorry this entry is so prosaic. I’ll try to tidy it up later. In the meantime, enjoy the photos and know that I’m now diligently planning my lessons.

Explore posts in the same categories: art, photography

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

