– touring 4, still tilting at windmills

– at crazy angles.

So, once I made it over the bridge I went right, rather than left, as the map indicated I could climb the hill, take in all the art work up the top and loop around to pass my favourites, Reverse City (the pencils) and the Dragonfly.

It also meant that I’d be saving that which I’d already seen until last, when I was tired and jaded and couldn’t give a flying fuck whether I saw another beautifully or cleverly crafted installation.

I visited my old friends, the dogs, who were part of the Satoyama Art Zoo, though, as they were on the way, just to the right of the Rice Field. I’d posted the picture below elsewhere,

combatdog

and a friend commented how spooky and scary the dogs could be. Initially I thought yes, but they were also cute, despite the combat gear, but then I caught sight of this guy’s paws.

satoyamaartzoocomabatdogwhole

I mucked up the colour when editing on the next photo, but you get the idea. The colour is close to what it was in the third picture. The nails on the paws were amazing, but I could not get a good shot of them. The sun was glaring, just so, off the silver.

satoyamaartzoocomabatdogonefoot

satoyamaartzoocomabatdogwholetwofeet

Tally-ho for now, I have a joust to attend, or a class to teach at the least. There will be more in this post, a few doors, a few statues, and a walk through the forest.
_______________________________________

The Restaurant Gives Orders, and it did. I can only read some of the Japanese, but the doors were asking for cream, were saying one door could be opened and another couldn’t, and anyway, I wanted to pretend like I was Doctor Who, or George from the famous five,  slipping through time dimensions and secret passages.

restaurantgivesorders1

Restaurant Gives Orders, by Mio Shirai (2000)

restaurantgivesorders2

I just got the description from the website. The wrong description is allocated to that link above, so just ignore it. It’s based on a story by Miyazawa Kenji called “The Restaurant of many Orders”. The description of the artwork states: …you may think you have wandered into the story itself when you pass through the doors,displaying the waiter’s orders to the customers as they unfold in the novel. How about that? I didn’t realise. Wow, maybe I shouldn’t have been so keen to go through those doors. It’s lucky I didn’t find myself in somebody’s cauldron for dinner. Synopsis here.

Anyway, I think my bed lies just behind them. A view of No Butai across the river to add to this and statues of Kannon and other Buddhist deities curving up the hill.
_________________________________________________

buddhiststatuesoppositenobutai

viewofnobutai

Explore posts in the same categories: art, photography

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “– touring 4, still tilting at windmills”


  1. […] the heart beats oftly with nary a sound « – touring 4, still tilting at windmills […]


Leave a Reply

