– do you understand what I'm saying, sir?

This is for someone I once knew, and a thanks for not only explaining why things were like they were, but for explaining how they could be. The following does not include that explanation, but not to worry, the post is still for him. He sat down one night and listened to Mogwai’s Punk Rock and he typed this out for me:

I’ll tell you about punk rock: punk rock is a word used by dilettantes and, uh… and, uh… heartless manipulators, about music… that takes up the energies, and the bodies, and the hearts and the souls and the time and the minds, of young men, who give what they have to it, and give everything they have to it. And it’s a… it’s a term that’s based on contempt; it’s a term that’s based on fashion, style, elitism, satanism, and, everything that’s rotten about rock ‘n’ roll.

I don’t know Johnny Rotten… but I’m sure, I’m sure he puts as much blood and sweat into what he does as Sigmund Freud did. You see, what, what sounds to you like a big load of trashy old noise… is in fact… the brilliant music of a genius… myself. And that music is so powerful, that it’s quite beyond my control. And, ah… when I’m in the grips of it, I don’t feel pleasure and I don’t feel pain, either physically or emotionally. Do you understand what I’m talking about? Have you ever, have you ever felt like that? When you just, when you just, you couldn’t feel anything, and you didn’t want to either. You know, like that? Do you understand what I’m saying, sir?

My friend didn’t have a computer. It was 2000. The Internet was not yet the mainstay in everyone’s life that it seems to be now. Including my own.

I, in turn, got it made up into a graphic, but it was a poor job, and the importance of his gesture was not as important, I guess, as it had seemed to me, as the graphic did not reflect the effort nor the money that went into it, and as its reception was a cursory glance. I might have even ended up keeping it and ditching it at some point. I had two made, and gave the other one to another friend, a drummer, for a wedding present. I wonder if he has it still.

Those words of Iggy Pop’s should resonate with anyone who needs to criticise Britney Spears or any kid trying valiantly in any class to put across his or her take on the world.

So saying, I will criticise Britney, because she is an easy target, and the most precious of students can be the most annoying, but when I judge this way, and I do it all the time, Iggy is probably right; my attitude is an attitude based on contempt. Whether he has the greatest respect for Britney, and whether he would have put her up there with Johnny Rotten and Sigmund Freud and himself is probably one the pundits could argue about for hours.

If you want to know why I was so impressed that someone listened to this song and transcribed those words for me, maybe you should listen and see if you can clearly hear them. We weren’t aware of the video below when we slipped the Cd into the player, and I can’t really figure out if the video is official or not. I think it works better without it. **Oh, damn. It’s very clear on the video. It wasn’t clear on my Cd. Probably just our inferior equipment. Anyway, my point stands.

Of course, Iggy Pop is definitely not someone I would really want writhing all over my living room, particularly at that stage of his life, and particularly if you’ve ever read of his antics in Danny Sugarmen’s Wonderland Avenue. The man has always had a great body though, or wait, maybe he only acquired that once he got older and wiser. So saying, it might be okay for Iggy, but I think I might be too old for all this shit, a phrase which reminds me of Mercy Seat for some reason, I wonder why? Probably the measuring of truth.

iggy pop

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For: Marwan Hasan Abed al- Ma’thoun Qdeh (4)

Explore posts in the same categories: songs

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

